Fries and Ranch

Random story time! Since moving to Gainesville, my life has been pretty ordinary. I go to Disney, I enjoy hanging out with my friends, I enjoy time with family, and I make time to play with my cat. However, last Thursday, an extraordinary thing happened to me that I wanted to share with you.

I didn’t bring my lunch to work that day, so my friend asked if I wanted to go to one of our favorite places downtown. As I said, it’s one of our favorite places so, of course, I was all for it. It is a pizza place that is known to the locals as a great place to get a slice of New York Style pizza. However, that day, my friend ordered pasta and I ordered a large order of curly fries with ranch. This place has amazing curly fries and they taste even better when dipped in ranch dressing.

Now, it is important to note that this day was a hot day. It’s Florida, what could you expect? It was also a windy day and we decided to sit outside. While we were eating our food, the wind picked up and blew my napkin out of my lap and onto the ground at my friend’s feet. I asked her if she could hand me my napkin since I couldn’t reach it. Before she could answer, the guy at the table behind me offered me one of their napkins from the napkin dispenser. Of course, we were kind and I thanked him when he started up a conversation.

It started up with him asking about the curly fries and if I was dipping mine in ranch. I said yes and then for the first time in my life, I received a marriage proposal from a random stranger. Of course, he laughed it off and said he was kidding, but that I was a woman after his own heart by dipping my fries in ranch. We laughed and started talking about how good the fries were and how ranch made them that much better. He continued talking about the fries and how I had received a big portion. He said he expected that when he called me that night, I would have eaten all of the fries I took home with me. I laughed and said yes I would have eaten all my fries by then. Then, he got up from his table and went inside the restaurant. My friend and I went back to our conversations and then he appeared again. This time, he walked right over to our table and placed a five dollar bill under my plate. He asked it that would cover my meal. I told him it would and then he smiled and said he hoped we had a good day and that he really liked that I dipped my fries in ranch. Then, he left.

After he and his friend walked away, I immediately checked the money and expected to find his number written on a piece of paper or even the bill itself. Nothing. I found nothing. No note, no number, no name. He came back a few minutes later to cross the street, but he never said a word to us. I’ve never seen this man before in my life and he paid for my meal. Part of me is just grateful that he paid for my meal. It was a nice gesture that I didn’t expect. Part of me wishes he had given me his phone number. I am single after all. I’m a HUGE introvert and an old fashioned woman, so I was not going to ask for his number or offer mine.

To my mystery guy, thank you for lunch. I wish I knew more about you. You were kind and I enjoyed talking with you. I’d love to get to know you better. To everyone else out there, always be yourself. I have always dipped curly fries from that place in ranch. My friend does too. I was unapologetically myself and someone noticed. What makes you special and unique is what someone will love about you. So, be unapologetically yourself and watch what happens. I hope you enjoyed my story. I promise, there’s more where that came from.

Until next time, I hope you all have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

